I Call her Vera


I love Firefly, you should all watch it. This is my favourite quote, pretty much out of any show that I can think of at the moment. In this scene Jayne is jealous that Mal has a wife and wants her.

Jayne: There’s times I think you don’t take me seriously. I think that oughta change.
Mal: Do you think it’s likely to?
Jayne: Six men came to kill me one time. And the best of ’em carried this. It’s a Callahan full-bore auto-lock. Customized trigger, double cartridge thorough gauge. It is my very favorite gun. [He holds the gun out to Mal.]
Mal: [exclaims in Chinese] You offering me a trade?
Jayne: A trade? Hell, it’s theft! This is the best damn gun made by man. It has extreme sentimental value. It’s miles more worthy ‘n what you got!
Mal: What I got? She has a name.
Jayne: So does this! I call her Vera.
Mal: Well, my days of not takin’ ya seriously are certainly comin’ to a middle.
—Firefly, “Our Mrs. Reynolds”

7 thoughts on “I Call her Vera

Leave a Reply

