Last.fm: How to stalk my music tastes


Image representing Last.fm as depicted in Crun...

Image via CrunchBase

When my older siblings were young, if they wanted a song they would have to go out to the store, find it on a cd and buy it (and probably another 19 songs that they didn’t want). But with the advent of the Internet, you can go on iTunes the moment you hear a song you like and buy it, or if you’re more of a wild child you might ILLEGALLY DOWNLOAD MUSIC. This has had an unexpected side-effect on me, and I’m sure countless others, I’ve got all the music that I want.

I sit down on the computer and want to go looking for music, but I can’t think of anything I want but don’t have. Enter Last.fm. This website lets you enter artists or songs that you like and it will tell you what other people who like those those bands also like. It also lets you set up a profile and link it to the music player on your computer. Then, whenever you listen to that songs, it adds it to your profile, building up an image of what your favourite songs and bands are, and from that recommend other music that you like.

What’s this got to do with stalking my music tastes? If you don’t change your privacy settings, everyone can see what songs you like the most. I’ve only had last.fm since October last year, right before I went through a major Crystal Castles phase, I also don’t think that the automatic uploading works all the time so this may not be completly accurate. But if you want to see a rough guide of my music tastes since a few months ago click here: http://www.last.fm/user/AofANLA

I highly recommend anybody who loves music to get their own profile, last.fm has many other feature that I still haven’t got my head around yet. It also lets you find gigs for bands you like, as well as free music downloads and it tells you when your favourite bands are releasing new material.

8 thoughts on “Last.fm: How to stalk my music tastes

  1. The only issue with the “new releases” is that they sometimes have stuff that was released anywhere between one to four years ago. And the free radio service is only available if you live in the U.S., U.K. or Germany. Otherwise, it’s pretty damn brilliant. I actually have an old teacher on there too~

  2. Hi! I know this is kinda off topic however I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest writing a
    blog post or vice-versa? My blog covers a lot of the
    same topics as yours and I feel we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you are interested feel free to send me an e-mail.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Superb blog by the way!

Leave a Reply

