Twitter: Stalking is encouraged


For some reason that I cannot fathom nobody where I live uses Twitter. I am unaware of anybody else who went to my high school who has an account. And I only got an account originally because of this blog. I don’t know why having a blog means that I need to have a Twitter, but I just felt that it was right.

It took me months to understand what Twitter is for, at first I found it boring, but now I love it. Where Facebook is used to network with your friends Twitter is used to network with people you don’t know but find interesting. On twitter I follow celebrities like Nathan Fillion (Firefly, Dr Horrible, Serenity), Felicia Day (The Guild, Dr Horrible), Neil Patrick Harris (How I Met Your Mother, Starship Troopers and, of course, Dr Horrible) as well as my actual friends who live in different states, some ‘twitter personalities’ (people who are only famous on twitter) and people who make my favourite blog and webcomics like Oatmeal (from The Oatmeal) and Jeph Jacques (Questionable Content). Things on into an extra layer on interesting when you start fictional characters, like the cast of Questionable Content (basicly all of them have a twitter account and are actually funny) or Barney Stintson (he however is less funny and pretty much only advertises :/ ).

Nathan Fillion at the 2005 Serenity "flan...

Image via Wikipedia

An obvious downside of Twitter is that you can only make tweets of 140 characters or less, so you can’t actually have in depth conversations on it or express slightly complicated ideas. So what is the point of it all? To hear the ideas, opinions and funny events of people who influence you (whether they be friend, famous person or fictional character) and to broadcast your own thoughts, if you like what someone said enough you can ‘retweet’ it so that others can also see it. It is very bad form to spam Facebook with statuses but there is no such limit on twitter, you can write your thoughts on whatever you want as often as you like.
Twitter: It starts slowly but becomes more interesting when you follow interesting people. Four out of five stars.

Also, I would love it if MORE PEOPLE AROUND ME GOT TWITTER. It’s very lonely there at the moment.

You can find mine here.

One thought on “Twitter: Stalking is encouraged

Leave a Reply

